Anticoagulation UK

16 October 2017

Anticoagulation Achievemenent Awards - 2017 Winners Announced

The inaugural award ceremony for the prestigious Anticoagulation Achievement Awards was hosted by Andrew Gwynne MP and Chair of the All Party Group for Thrombosis, in the Terrace Pavilion, House of Commons on Wednesday 11 October.

News aaa winner 2017 main

Held as part of the celebrations for World Thrombosis Day a global movement to reduce the leading cause of preventable cardiovascular death.

The awards, celebrating outstanding practice in the management, education and provision of anticoagulation across the UK, finalists were selected from entries spanning the six categories:

  • Prevention of Hospital Acquired Thrombosis
  • Best implantation of NICE Quality Standards in AF
  • Prevention of Cancer Associated Thrombosis
  • Best Thrombosis Management Centre
  • Best written patient information
  • Patient nominated award

Organisers of the awards, representing leading charities - Anticoagulation UK, AF Association, Thrombosis UK and Arrhythmia Alliance, AiP national training establishment and Thrombus medical journal, were delighted that this first year had already attracted a great deal of interest and applications from exceptional services.

The winning entries from each category received their awards at the House of Commons reception and were awarded a £1000 bursary, which will be used to aid continuous improvement of services to patients in this area of clinical practice.

To review all of the 2017 winners and to download both a press release and brochure from the event, please visit the Anticoagulation Achievement Awards website.